Focal technology areas (FTAs) constitute a cornerstone of the present phase of the Nanoscience and Technology National Program. The FTAs facilitate development of new nano-technologies and serve as engines for technology transfer to industry and for commercialization.

A FOCAL TECHNOLOGY AREA is defined by several criteria:
1. It generates world-class science and technological-industrial impact / interest.

2. Its possible industrial impact is in areas of interest/relevance to Israeli industry, present or future.

3. It is mission oriented.

4. It is broad enough to include several research groups and achieve a critical mass of activity.

5. Intercampus and industry collaboration is valued.

6. The academic institutions must commit to a 200% match of all allocated funds.
The FTA program started on January 2012 in the six participating institutions, corresponding to the onset of the second nanoscience national program.

There are seven FTA programs as follows:

1. Bar Ilan University: Nanostructured Oxides for Quantum Conversion of Solar Energy – Low cost, high efficiency solar conversion, self-window cleaning and light management
FTA Director is Professor Arie Zaban

2. Ben Gurion University (BGU FTA #1): Bio-Inspired Nano-Carriers for Sub-Cellular Targeted Therapeutics
FTA Director is Professor Yossi Kost

3. Ben Gurion University (BGU FTA #2): Integrated Infrared Up-Conversion Imaging Device using Nano-Plasmonic Materials and Nano-Photonic Structures
FTA Director is Professor Gabby Sarusi

4. Hebrew University: Functional Coatings and Printed Devices
FTA Director is Professor Oded Shoseyov

5. Technion: Nano-Photonic Assisted Advanced Functional Detectors and Imagers
FTA Director is Professor Gad Eisenstein

6. Tel Aviv University: Nanomedicines for Personalized Theranostics
FTA Director is Professor Dan Peer

7. The Weizmann Institute of Science: Inorganic nanotubes (INT) – from nanomechanics to improved nanocomposites
FTA Director is Professor Reshef Tenne